MSI Security Level
MSI Security Level
View content for :

MSI Security Level

Parameter #
(SSI # F8 08 4A)
The digital scanner offers four levels of decode security for MSI bar codes. There is an inverse relationship between security and digital scanner aggressiveness. Increasing the level of security can reduce scanning aggressiveness, so select only the level of security necessary.
MSI Security Level 0: This setting allows the digital scanner to operate in its most aggressive state, while providing sufficient security in decoding most in-spec bar codes.
MSI Security Level 1: This default setting eliminates most misdecodes.
MSI Security Level 2: Select this option with greater bar code security requirements if Security Level1 fails to eliminate misdecodes.
MSI Security Level 3: If you selected Security Level 2, and misdecodes still occur, select this security level to apply the highest safety requirements.
Selecting this option is an extreme measure against mis-decoding severely out-of-spec bar codes, and significantly impairs the decoding ability of the digital scanner. If this level of security is required, try to improve the quality of the bar codes.
Security Level 0 (0)
Security Level 1 (1*)
Security Level 2 (2)
Security Level (3)