Security Level
Security Level
View content for :

Security Level

Parameter #
(SSI #4Dh)
This parameter sets the security level.
The scanner offers four levels of decode security, which include the Code 128 family, UPC/EAN/JAN, and Code 93. Select increasing levels of security for decreasing levels of scanning quality. There is an inverse relationship between security and scanner aggressiveness, so choose only that level of security necessary for the application.
  • Security Level 0 - The scanner operates in its most aggressive state, while providing sufficient security decoding most in-spec barcodes.
  • Security Level 1 - This default setting eliminates most mis-decodes.
  • Security Level 2 - Select this option if Security Level 1 fails to eliminate mis-decodes.
  • Security Level 3 - If you selected Security Level 2 and mis-decodes still occur, select this security level.
Selecting this option is an extreme measure against mis-decoding severely out-of-spec barcodes, and significantly impairs the decoding ability of the scanner. If this level of security is required, try to improve the quality of the barcodes.
Security Level 0 (0)
*Security Level 1 (1)
Security Level 2 (2)
Security Level 3 (3)